30 Days of Truth – Day 2

Day 02 → Something you love about yourself.

The thing I think I love about myself is that I finally have come out of the closet and I’m being the person I’ve always wanted to be. 

When you grow up in a very religious family like I did, you lose yourself.  You are taught that if you do “bad” you will go to hell.  You must strive to go to heaven.  You must honor and obey your parents.  I did honor and obey them.  But to the detriment of myself. 

Then I got married, to someone not of my religion.  Heaven help me, to hell I’m going.  Then we had children.  What the hell did I do.  I took them to church.  Raised them in the same religion that I was raised in.  The one thing I didn’t do was “force” them to go.  I never forced them to marry in the church, or go on missions for the church.  My kids are adults now, all have left the church and feel the freedom.  I am glad that they have some religious training to fall back on, but I’m also glad that they are their own people.  To be honest, my kids showed me how to be my own person.  I am forever grateful to them for that. 

I used to think that girls with tattoos were skanks.  Why would you want to be a grandma someday with tattoo’s, I would ask.  And then, I turned 51.  Got my first tattoo.  Then my second, then my third, and now a fourth.  I’m done, until I have more grandchildren, IF I have more grandchildren, then I will add another little butterfly to the grandchildren garden. 

So that is what I’m loving about myself.  I’m as free as a butterfly, as my tat’s all prove. 

This entry was posted in Truth. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Days of Truth – Day 2

  1. Ginger says:

    in reading this it kind of makes me curious which religion you were a part of. i also come from a very religious background and it drives me batty in some areas because i do want to have that feeling of freedom. it is a dream to get a tattoo, you should post a pic 🙂

    • Ariana says:

      I was raised mormon. I actually don’t care what religion anyone is, as long as they are good people. I will post pictures of my tats sometime. Most of them are butterflies. They represent my grandchildren, my kids, and my husband.

Leave a Reply

